Albany Proper has gathered all the resources you need to navigate the 2021 primary elections in the City of Albany. We made our best effort to link to official candidate webpages or social media pages. If you find any discrepancies in our guide, please contact us with corrections.

For more questions about the voting process, check out our Capital Region Voting Resources.

When are the 2021 local elections?

The primary election is on June 22, 2021

The general election is on November 2, 2021

Polls are open 6:00am – 9:00pm

Find your election day polling location

Can I vote early?

Yes you can, early voting for the primaries is between June 12th – 20th during the hours of:

Sat & Sun: 9:00am-2:00pm
Mon & Wed: 12noon-8:00pm
Tue, Thu & Fri: 9:00am-5:00pm

Early voting for the general election occur during the same hours between October 23rd – 31st.

Where do I vote early?

In person at Albany County Board of Elections located at 260 South Pearl St, Albany

What ward do I live in?

You can search by your address below to determine your ward:

You can also click each ward below to see a detailed boundary map.


Candidates for Mayor of Albany

Kathy Sheehan (I)
Valarie Faust
Alicia Purdy (C)Greg Aidala

Candidates for the Albany Common Council

PresidentCorey Ellis (I)Jesse Calhoun (C)
Ward 1Sonia Frederick (I) (WFP)
Scott Mannarino (C)
Scott Mannarino (C)
Ward 2Derek Johnson (I) (WFP)
Lovett Branch
Ward 3Joyce Love (I)   
James Davis Jr.
Steven Negron
Vashon McIntyre
Ward 4Kelly Kimbrough (I)N/A
Ward 5Jahmel Robinson (I)
Wilmer Lawson  (WFP)
Ward 6Jeffrey Mayo
Susan Pedo
Gabriella Romero  (WFP)
Ward 7Sergio Adams   
Violetta De Rosa (WFP)
Brian Scavo
Ward 8Jack FlynnN/A
Ward 9Jolyn Gallagher
Meghan Keegan  (WFP)
Robert Porter (C)
Ward 10Owusu Anane (I) (WFP)N/A
Ward 11Alfredo Balarin (I) (WFP)
Luis Williams
Ward 12Edward Hyde ClarkeRobert Hammer (C)
Ward 13Ginnie Farrell (I)N/A
Ward 14Celia Evers
Deborah Zamer (WFP)
Ward 15Tom Hoey (I)(WFP)Joseph Kilmer

(I) = incumbent 
(WFP) = also appearing on Working Families Party line
(C) = also appear on Conservative Party line