Albany Proper has gathered all the resources you need to navigate the 2021 elections in the City of Albany. We made our best effort to link to official candidate webpages or social media pages. If you find any discrepancies in our guide, please contact us with corrections.

For more questions about the voting process, check out our Capital Region Voting Resources.

When is the 2021 local election?

The general election is on November 2, 2021

Polls are open 6:00am – 9:00pm

Find your election day polling location

Can I vote early?

Yes you can, early voting for the primaries is from Saturday, October 23rd through Sunday, October 31st during the hours of:

Sat & Sun: 9:00am-2:00pm
Mon & Wed: 12noon-8:00pm
Tue, Thu & Fri: 9:00am-5:00pm

Where do I vote early?

City of Albany residents can vote early at any of these locations: 

What ward do I live in?

You can search by your address below to determine your ward:

You can also click each ward below to see a detailed boundary map.


Candidates for Mayor of Albany

Kathy Sheehan (I)Alicia Purdy (C)Greg Aidala

Candidates for the Albany Common Council

PresidentCorey Ellis (I)Jesse Calhoun (C)
Ward 1Sonia Frederick (I) (WFP)Scott Mannarino (C)
Ward 2Derek Johnson (I) (WFP)N/A
Ward 3Joyce Love (I)   
Vashon McIntyre
Ward 4Kelly Kimbrough (I)N/A
Ward 5Jahmel Robinson (I)
Ward 6
Gabriella Romero  (WFP)
Ward 7Sergio AdamsN/A
Ward 8Jack FlynnN/A
Ward 9Meghan Keegan  (WFP)Robert Porter (C)
Ward 10Owusu Anane (I) (WFP)N/A
Ward 11Alfredo Balarin (I) (WFP)N/A
Ward 12Edward Hyde ClarkeRobert Hammer (C)
Ward 13Ginnie Farrell (I)N/A
Ward 14Deborah Zamer (WFP)N/A
Ward 15Tom Hoey (I)(WFP)Joseph Kilmer

(I) = incumbent 
(WFP) = also appearing on Working Families Party line
(C) = also appear on Conservative Party line

© Albany Proper, Inc.

Skip to content